Comparing Java Mock Frameworks – Part 1: The Contenders


Update 2010/10/06:  I removed rMock from the list because it hasn’t been maintained for a while. I might take a look at it some other time.

Update 2010/09/24: I removed the comparison of spying capabilities. Indeed, I believe that such frameworks are not intended for state verification but behaviour verification and stubbing only.

This is the first instalment in the series Comparing Java Mock Frameworks. Here, I present the frameworks that I intend to compare. The whole series consists of the following posts:


Since a while ago, I wanted to line up the major mock frameworks in Java. I am used to Mockito, which I must say I utilize a lot when I have to deal with Test Doubles.

 

I must confess that I very often use a mock framework instead of writing my own test doubles, even in trivial cases. I find it quite handy because, I don’t have to care about those mocks if I later change the interface of the mocked class. Others prefer writing their own mocks in many cases.

I use mock frameworks when I need to impersonate a class for the purpose of testing the behaviour of the class under test. I mostly follow the following patterns:

  • Test Stub: I need to replace a class in order to return values when the class under test calls some methods on the object. I can also use the test stub to throw an exception to test error handling in the class under test.
  • Mock Object: I need to replace a class in order to verify how the class under test interacts with the mock object.

In a mini-series of posts, I will compare mock frameworks for Java to determine which ones best suits me. Here is the list of the different ways I will use them for the comparison:

Instantiation and overriding
  • Obtaining a test double for an interface
  • Obtaining a test double for a class
  • Obtaining a test double for a final class
  • Overriding of final methods in a test double
  • Overriding of static methods in a test double
Test Stubs
  • Returning a single value
  • Returning multiple values orderly
  • Throwing an exception in a non-void method
  • Throwing an exception in a void method
Mock Objects
  • Verify the number of invocations of a method
  • Verify the order of invocations of a method
  • Verify the arguments of an invocation of a method
Fluency of the API
  • The closer to natural language, the better
  • Ease of set up
Specifics Features that make the framework stand out of the crowd

Here are the frameworks that I will compare:

Framework URL
Mockito http://mockito.org/
EasyMock http://easymock.org/
Mockachino http://code.google.com/p/mockachino/
PowerMock http://code.google.com/p/powermock/
jMock http://www.jmock.org/
JMockit http://code.google.com/p/jmockit/
Unitils http://unitils.sourceforge.net/

I will evaluate the frameworks based on my needs. I won’t claim that everyone should, from now on, use the framework I’ll choose :-)

References:

3 Responses to Comparing Java Mock Frameworks – Part 1: The Contenders

  1. Pingback: Shaun Abram » Blog Archive » EasyMock

  2. Pingback: Confluence: PHYLON

  3. Pingback: Confluence: PHYLON

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

